RSS Feed

Tiny Tag Earrings – My Convention Swaps

Hi Ho,

Whenever there is a big gathering of Stampin’ Up! Demonstrators there’s always swaps. Swaps are where a Demonstator will make a whole heap of (most often) cards using Stampin’ Up products, to swap with other Demonstrators. So if I made 30 cards, I’d swap with 30 other Demonstrators and bring home 30 completley different cards. Its so much fun….. I’m still learning so much from the swaps I brought home.

Just for something different, I decided to make earrings swaps this year. I used all SU! products except for the bit that goes through the ear which SU! don’t make. I was really happy with the result…. I’ve fallen completley in love with our Crystal Effects product.  I did try a couple of non SU! products that were no where as good as Crystal Effects. So go us!! I made around 70 pairs!!!

Stamp Set: Tiny Tags

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Baja Breeze, Pink Pirouette

Ink: Chocolate Chip

Accessories and Tools: Tiny Tags Punch, 2mm Punch, Crystal Effects

Method: Take 2 pieces of A4 SU! cardstock. Glue pieces together either using Crystal Effects or a liquid glue. Make sure you flatten out any bubbles and have glue dispersed over the full sheet of paper. Now put these two glued together pieces of cardstock under a big pile of books and leave to dry, flatten and harden for at least 24 hours.

Take the dry, hard A4 cardstock and stamp your preferred Tiny Tag stamp on. Then and punch out 4 Tiny tags (with Tiny Tags punch) – two with stamped image and two plain. Glue one plain and one stamped tags together so you now have an earring 4 pieces of cardstock thick. (The punch will only punch out two ply at a time). Let dry. Then use your 2mm punch to put hole in top of earring.

Apply Crystal Effects on the front- dry and then repeat on the back. Use a pin through hole to keep open while applying Crystal Effects. A couple of coats will make it super shiny. Then put in your earring findings.

I wouldn’t jump in the shower with these paper earrings on… but maybe with a couple of coats of varnish they might be reasonably water resistant.

Here are the swaps I got in return. Thanks everyone. x

3 responses »

  1. WOW thank you for the instructions, I will be making as soon as the postman delivers my punch.

    megan

    Reply
  2. Shelley Feutrill

    Talk about thinking outside the square – fabulous Carolyn!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

