RSS Feed

Convention 2011 – Melbourne

I’m still getting the bags unpacked and the washing sorted but I simply had to tell you about my amazing few days away at the Stampin’ Up! 2011 South Pacific Convention!!!! Woooo hoooooo!!!! I’m just so pumped up and reinvigorated about all things Stampin’ Up! but also life in general. Yep – SU! Convention is THAT good.

So much to share……. just too much to write down but here are some of my highlights. Grab a cuppa – it’s a long post.

So Chris (hubby), Archer (15 month old) and I flew to Melbourne last Wednesday about lunch time – A MASSIVE thank you to Chris for being Mr Mum for a few days – I just couldn’t leave my baby for all that time . Now I have to tell you, I’m not a great flyer, so I kiss the ground (in my imagination) everytime I touch down!! LOL.. We arrived in Melbourne and then I really started to get excited. I mean the packing was all done, the organisation for my two little boys that were staying at home with Nana was all done, lists written, lists checked and double checked, bags packed (and ‘only’ 1 kg over weight at the airport !!*grin*) AND we actually made it to the airport in great time.

On arrival to Melbourne we met our lovely house mates Nicole Derendorf and Jeanette Dohnt at the airport and soon found our way to our accommodation. A nice relaxing night with pizza and wine followed – we even had a dip in the pool!!! It was totally freezing outside – so the run too and from the pool atrium was very speedy. LOL. Then off to bed – ready for the next exciting day.

Day 1 of Convention and SO much excitement. MASSIVE ‘swaps’ upon arrival at the Melbourne Convention Centre. Approx 500 ladies attended this year. I took about 70 swaps.. check out mine.

I now have a huge pile of beautiful cards and 3d items I received from other ladies for swaping with them the above cards. Thanks so much ladies…. So much to inspire me and load of great ideas.

I picked up my Convention bag (so cute) and my Convention stamp sets (sneak peaks from the next catalogue – so I can’t show you ….yet!)

and then zoomed straight up to the Memento Mall – purchases NEEDED to be made. Here is just a few of the hundreds of people in the line for the Momento Mall…This is a selection of my purchases.

How delicious is this craft bag in Greenhouse Gala Designer Series Paper colours!!!! I LOVE it!!! But guess what …. it gets better…. matching computer bag!!!……

Meet my beautiful new workshop apron……..

I got a few other nicknacks too (who am I kidding… I bought everything!! LOL).

After this I attended some leadership Tutorials … (mind officially blown – so much good business stuff but also really great personal growth stuff too), some colour swatch making done…. guess who knows the new In-Colors in then next Idea Book and Catalogue???? But secret squirrel… I can’t tell you…yet!!!!!  And then then first general session with loads of amazing announcements on all sorts of amazing Stampin’ Up! specials and great changes for the Demonstrator opportunity. I’ll be keeping you up to date with these as information is released to the public. Then back to my boys at the apartment and a home cooked meal by Chris.

Day 2 – Another great day!!! General session straight up with Workshop Wows (demonstrations by amazing Demonstrator who are at the top of their game), great information from the Stampin’ Up! staff and a really funny game show spoof …. and GUESS WHAT??? For the first time this year, Stampin’ Up! Australia ran a ‘make your own SU! Commercial video competition’ – I bent Chris’ arm to help me and …. I won!!!! I’ll try and post it in the next few days (Chris needs to work his magic computer dude stuff on it to get it on my blog). I won $250 worth of Stampin’ Up! product of my choice. I was SOOOOOO EXCITING!!!!!  Then after lunch off to classes and then ‘Make and Takes’ where I got to get my fingers inky and make some cards. Yippee.

Yummo Chinese take away with my men…. Then on to gold class at the cinema with the girls to see Water For Elephants. What – a – blast.

Day 3 – We started the day with classes – my head is still spinning with the information and inspiration. I’ll be reviewing my notes and spending sometime digesting all of this in the next while. More time to check out all of the display boards 

then lunch and off to the last general session. Some more amazing Workshop Wows!!! I can’t wait to try some of the techniques. A fantastic and moving keynote presentation from the President of Stampin’ Up! and more of a chance to hear from the amazing CEO and Co-Founder of Stampin’ Up!  Shelli Gardner. Of course I have to mention the FREE surprise goodies we also received!!! Whoot whoot!! All sneak peaks from the next Idea Book and Catalogue…. your going to love them.

Back to the apartment to get dressed for the Banquet Dinner and Awards presentation that evening  and a quick hello to my men. The dinner was so beautiful and delicious. Here are just some of my fellow demonstrators and friends from Convention 2011

Roomies Nicole and Jeanette – nicer people you will never meet.

Myself, Alisa, Tanya and Darlene.

Here was the special desert celebrating the 5 year birthday of Stampin’ Up! in Australia.After dinner off to the awards …. I have to congratulate my wonderful uplines Alisa Tilsner – Number 11 Demonstrator in Australia, Incentive Trip winner plus millions of other awards and and Angela Sargent – Number 1 Demonstrator in Australia!!!!!!!!! and millions of other awards. GREAT people and friends.

What an amazing week. I had a B-L-A-S-T !!!! I can’t wait for next year in Canberra – who’s coming with me????

2 responses »

  1. Yay that sounds like an amazing weekend !!! So glad I finally got to catch up on it … even if it was via your blog =) We will catch up next week and I will get the “finer” details =) Love J x

    Reply
  2. Sounds like you had a great time. Congratulations on winning the competition. There will be no more juicy details Jane. What happens at the Stampin Up convention, stays at the SU convention!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

