RSS Feed

Inkspirations Challenge #92 – The Nicest Things

I’ve been busting to try out this technique for days after seeing photo of a piece of art on Pintrest (a website I’m a bit obsessed with at the moment!!). The technique had the image of a person on newsprint where you can see the newsprint on everything except for the peoples skin.

I’ve used our beautiful the little girls image from our ‘The Nicest Things’ stamp set  and the ‘First Edition Speciality’ designer series paper.  I also thought I’d play along with the Inkspirations Challenges blog which has a colour challenge this week using Cherry Cobbler, Not Quite Navy, Very Vanilla and Sahara Sand.

Here is a little tutorial on the ‘Stamping on newsprint’ technique:

I’ve run a piece of the First Edition DSP through my Big Shot machine with my Top Note Bigz Die. I’ve then stamped the little girls image in VersaMark and then covered in Black Embossing powered and heat set with my Stampin’ Up! Heat Tool.

I’ve used Craft White ink on a dry Aqua Painter pen to cover all of the skin on the little girls (and cover the newsprint) and then coloured the skin with my Blush Blossom Stampin’ Write Marker.

I’ve then added colour to the rest of the image using my Aqua Painters and my Classic Stampin’ ink Pads. (Using ink from the pads in the lids as a palette)… and a few touch ups with my markers.

I’ve then surrounded the whole image in grey to make it ‘pop’ out off of the page.

I’ve then gone over the faces of the girls with my black Stampin’ Write Marker ‘journal tip’ end. Now in hindsight I should have used a non water based pen as the image was still a tiny bit moist and the black ended up a little bit fuzzier and not as crisp as I wanted – and therefore the faces not as delicate. A learning for next time. 

And here is the finished card. What do you think? I’ve used my FAVOURITE Vintage wall paper embossing folder and sponged it with ink to distress it a little. I’ve also used the new yummy Seam Binding ribbon in Cherry Cobbler. 

Would you like to see more tutorials like this one?  Let me know if there are any techniques that you would especially like to see me make.

Happy Stamping,

x C

Leave a Reply

