RSS Feed

What’s Steampunk Papercraft?

“I’m glad you asked” said Dean from the Curiosity Show (wasn’t that a great show???!!!! LOL)

One of my wonderful stamping class friends Kimberley has been showing me some of her amazing creations and her talking me through a little bit of the world of ‘Steampunk’. Steampunk is everything from fashion, movies, art and literature.

Of course I’ve had to do some Googling as I must know everything 😉 and this is what I’ve found. Steampunk definition:

Steampunk is a subgenre of speculative fiction, usually set in an anachronistic Victorian or quasi-Victorian alternate history setting. It could be described by the slogan “What the past would look like if the future had happened sooner.” It includes fiction with science fiction, fantasy or horror themes.

Interesting hey? If you do a Google image search you’ll find some of the images are confrontational and some are just beautiful and intriguing. I really taken with the Victorian style mixed with the internal clock pieces. The mixture of shock skeletons, chains and then soft beauty like butterflies and lace.

Here are a couple of the papercraft pieces Kimberley has been working on and was kind enough to let me show you on my blog. She also has some fantastic cards but these are some of her 3d work. She puts some of the jewellery she makes in them and uses them as gift boxes…. cool hey? These could definitely be used for Halloween as well.

Leave a Reply

