RSS Feed

Festive Friday #31 Father’s Day Inspiration

Hi Peeps,

I can’t believe how fast the weeks go when you’re working in and out of the house. Bit of a work update – I’m LOVING IT!! I even remember lots of things from before I left. Isn’t it amazing what the brain retains after 8 years? Of course I have tones to learn and considering I’ve only just got computer access after 5 weeks, I’m a way off being back at full speed… but I’m having fun using my both sides of my brain… work for one side and Stampin’ Up! and my wonderful craft on the other. Best of both worlds.

Here is this weeks Festive Friday challenge #31. It’s a Fathers Day inspiration based on an old car photo that I’ll include on the bottom of the post. I just HAD to pull out my wonderful Loads of Love truck stamp for one more play with before it retires at the end of this month.  It was one of my very first stamps that came in my starter kit and it’s so good for water colouring.

I’ve done a few fun techniques on this one. I’ve water coloured the majority of the truck on SU! watercolour paper (simply the best out there) but then went over the wheels with my Black SU! Marker and then used my White Gel Pen to add in the highlights. I’ve stamped the hearts on Cherry Cobbler cardstock then covered the image with Versamark and clear embossing power then a quick blast of my heat gun to set the clear embossing (not sure the beautiful shine is really showing up in my late night photo I’ve taken under dodgy lighting – must buy that photo tent!!). I’ve used my new Stripes Embossing folder with a fun technique. I opened it up and rubbed it on one side with the open Cherry Cobbler inkpad. Then I ran a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock in it and through the Big Shot. So the cardstock is both dry embossed with the stripes and coloured as well.

Awwwwe…. I’ll miss you Load of Love stamp set. (Of course it will only be moving from one side of my desk to the other as I can’t part with any of my beloved stamp sets – I’m such a hoarder. LOL)  If you wiuld like to order this stamp or any others from the retired list get and order to me on either carolynb@adam.com.au or 0401 857748.

Hope you like my card. Check out the other girls work for this challenge – and maybe have a go this week yourself in the challenge.

and here is the card’s inspiration….. 

Happy Stamping,

x Carolyn

3 responses »

  1. This is such a gorgeous card…really love your little “Loads of Love” car…. xx

    Reply
  2. I love how you transformed the embossing folder into a makeshift letterpress. How clever!

    Reply
  3. Congratulation! Your project has been chosen for the Blog Finds of the Day on August 13. If you would like to see other projects chosen for blog finds, please visit http://blogfindsoftheday.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

