RSS Feed

Salt Lake City Utah – Stampin’ Up! Convention 2013 – A trip of a life time begins

 

 

 

IMG_0156

You know a lot can happen in a short time right? It wasn’t long ago I was posting saying I was about to leave to go to Utah as a guest of my friend Angela Sargeant on the Stampin’ Up! Australia’s Grand Vacation &  Stampin’ Up! USA Convention 2013 and now it’s almost 2 weeks since I’ve arrived back in Australia – and I’m still processing all of the amazing experiences and re-ajusting to life back home again. Gosh 5 star accommodation is a hard thing to give up!! Hehehe

I wanted to start to share with you some of the best bits of the trip by way of the photos I’ve taken, however the most amazing thing of any journey is the people and adventures you have. I left Australia with Angela my stamping buddy and returned home with a life long friend – truly the best part of my trip was the hours of traveling, shopping, eating and SO much laughter I’ve had with this beautiful lady. We also met the most fun and hospitable folks in Utah including the staff Stampin’ Up!, made friends with Demonstrators from all over the world including Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Canada and New Zealand. Not to mention strengthening friendships with our fellow Aussie Demos – oh my goodness there are some wickedly funny ladies out there!!

But as I can’t recount all of our adventures (and some I’ve been sworn to secrecy) I’ll just have to show you the photos instead. 🙂

Here am I on the flight out of Adelaide on my way to meet Angela in Sydney …. did I tell you I’m not a very happy flyer – but I refuse to let it stop me enjoying life. Still… I do look a little nervous right??

IMG_2871

 

This is the beautiful Salt Lake City. Did you know that Salt Lake is where the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is based? These amazing buildings are the Mormon Temples visible from our hotel window. Just breath taking.

Does it look hot? YEP!! It was very, VERY hot and going straight from cold wintery Adelaide to the middle of the desert in summer in the US was a bit of a shock to the system. I’m sure missing that weather now though.
IMG_2875

The whole town seemed to be happy to welcome Stampin’ Up!

 

 

IMG_2878

This is the outside of the SLC Convention Centre… as you walk in the many doors a the bottom of this dome it triggers wooden chimes to start on the inside.

IMG_2880

So this is a long line twisting around the hall ways of the Convention Centre…. folk  making their way into the starting session. Did I mention there were 6000!! or so Stampin’ Up! Demonstrators attending this year? The USA’s biggest yet maybe the result of it being Stampin’ Up!’s 25th Anniversary year of being in business.

This year was Australia’s biggest Convention too… we had 700 Demonstrators. Having now gone to both and LOVED both, I still think we’re very lucking in Australia as we have a lovely intimate Convention were we get the chance to catch up with friends and have a lot of time with the lovely US Stampin’ Up! staff.

IMG_2891

 

I won a crowd prize (we call it Prize Patrol) on the very first day!! Happy gifty for me. 🙂 🙂 YEAH!!  Little did we know that EVERYONE would end up winning a Prize Patrol that attended – yep 6000 Prizes. The last 25 people to win, won EVERY STAMP SET out of the soon to be released Seasonal Catalogue!!!  How lucky were they???? OMG!!!

IMG_2912I like this photo of Angela and I…. just a few of the 6000 behind us.

 

 

 

IMG_2915

 

The decorations were AMAZING.. and the displays PHENOMENAL.
IMG_2916

 

I’ll post more photos of the displays in the next little while but here are a few to wet your appetite …

IMG_3001

IMG_2996

IMG_2983

IMG_2977

 

I also was lucky enough to meet some US Stampin’ Up! royalty :

Patty Bennett – so lovely

 

IMG_2970

 

Tami White – sweet AND Stinkin’ Cute (seriously she is SO cute!!)IMG_2968

The oh so amazing Mary Fish

 

IMG_2966

 

I also got to ‘sort of’ meet my ABSOLUTE favourite US Stamper Kimberly Van Diepen walking across the road. I know… It’s kind of weird stalking these ladies who are just like us – Stampin’ Up! Demonstrators, however they are a real inspiration and work so hard they deserve a bit of Fandom.

Have you had to get another coffee yet???? I know it’s a super long post but it’s fun I hope.

The Awards evening was inspirational. Some of the US and Canadian Demos are unbelievable with their achievements. So worth attending.

This photo is everyone heading to the ‘After Party’ once the awards were completed….. mind blown?

IMG_3015

So Stampin’ Up! know how to put on a party!!! Acrobats…..

 

IMG_3020

Cupcake girls …  I named Bad Cupcake girls IMG_3026

and Good Cupcake girl 🙂IMG_3022

said cupcakes!! Yummo!!

IMG_3024

and whats a party with out party favours? Free 6 rolls of Washi Tape for all!!

Now I’d like to tell you we went straight home to bed….. but um NO!!! Guess what? Our Aussie Convention After party was such a hit this year that they bought in a band to rock out the US Convention After Party too!! So what self respecting Aussie couldn’t dance like crazy to the 80’s covers band? – and they just shouldn’t have played ‘ Land Down Under’…… we all did make a lot of noise…oi Oi OI!!  hehehe

So 3 days of US Convention finally, sadly came to an end. So many stamping goodies to bring home, business and creative learnings and memories to treasure.

Here is a shot off all the sparkly confetti falling from the ceiling at the end of the closing session.

IMG_0158

 

Remember this little swap card I made?

IMG_2862

These are all of the swaps I got in return……. I’ll give you a close up in the next while of a few really special ones.

IMG_2920

 

I hope you enjoyed this blog post. Please leave a comment if you did as I love to hear from you.

If you’d like to find out more about being a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator as either a fun hobby or as a business opportunity click here , I’d be happy to send you an information pack.

Happy Stamping & Remember to Live Life in the Sunshine

x Carolyn

4 responses »

  1. I discovered that the chimes weren’t from the doors, but from windmills that were on the outside of the convention centre

    Reply
  2. It was fun reading about your adventures both here and on Facebook, it sounds like you girls were really spoiled!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

