RSS Feed

My Stampin’ Up! USA holiday with the ‘This and that Journal’

I’m so excited to bring this project to you. Last year I was very lucky to be able to attend the USA Stampin’ Up! Convention and the South Pacific Stampin’ Up! Grand Vacation as a guest of my dear friend Angela Sargeant. For 10 wonderful days we toured Utah and then Las Vegas and had the most amazing time.

Of course through out my journey I collected all sorts of pamphlets, ticket stubs and photographic memories. Now in the past after a holiday I’ve not really known what to do with these little bits and pieces but this time I knew that I’d be making a ‘This and that Journal’. The ‘ This and that Journal’ or sometimes known as ‘smash book journaling‘ is a really great way to document your every day life or a special event or holiday with or personal anecdotes, photos, bits and pieces, drawings – really anything. It’s very personal and EASY.

Now those who follow my page know I’m not really a scrapbooker but I really enjoyed the process of this style of record keeping. The unstructured layout really appeals to me and I know it will be a book that I go back to and relive my travels over and over again through out the years.

I wanted a very USA feel to the cover. The I’ve just tied the ribbons on the the spiral binding and I love the texture it gives. The Epic Day This and That Stickers and Washi tape have played a really big role in the cover and throughout.

IMG_4535

I’ve popped in my very Australian swap card at the front and a photo I love of Angela and myself with the masses of other US Demonstrators behind us at SU! Convention. Was an exciting first day.

IMG_4538

The ‘This and that Journal‘ comes with some pockets for you to pop things to read later. Here I have a map of Salt Lake City and some little love notes I left for my little boys to read if they got sad without Mum (I’m please to say they had such a lovely time with their Dad and Grandma they didn’t have to read them until I got home and we cuddled on the couch all afternoon).

IMG_4537

Here I’ve used some Stampin’ Up! paper clips to add a pamphlet to the spiral binding – this way I can turn the pamphlet like a page and still open it up to read it. IMG_4539

I’ve left plenty of space for journaling (which I’ve added after the photos were taken) as my words and thoughts is what take this journal as a memory book to the next level. I love re- reading my diaries from my Husband and my back packing days prior to having children. I’m so glad we took the time to write those diaries an I know I’ll feel the same about my journal one day too. IMG_4540

Here is a menu from the welcome dinner on the Grand Vacation at Deer Valley Utah and a photo of the table setting. We were SOOOOO spoilt – Stampin’ Up! is really knows how to turn on a wonderful dinner. Again the menu is on paper clips (I’ve washi taped on the back a little to help it stay put), so I can flip it and add even more photos. I’ve also included a little flower that decorated out table gifts – yummy salted caramels. It also makes the journal more interesting then ‘just photos and writing’. IMG_4541

Finally I bought myself a very special momento of my US holiday and kept the ribbon to add to my journal and the little card too.
IMG_4542I have lots more pages of course but these are just a few to inspire you. I hope you liked them.

While some people take some glue and journaling markers with them to create as the go, some even have their journals in their handbags to have with them all the time to keep record of their daily life – I preferred to do it all at home in the quiet reflection of my craft room…. getting all misty eyed reliving the fun and laughs we had.

and do you know what I did when I finished?  Ordered another one!

Like to order your own? Just click here to visit my online store.

This and That Journal #131268 $18.95

Epic Day This and That Designer Series Washi Tape #131269 $8.95

Epic Day This and That Designer Stickers #131271 $8.96

So what do you think? I’d love you to leave me a comment – it makes my day to hear from you. 🙂

x Carolyn 

Leave a Reply

