RSS Feed

Happy Retirement – Ex Libris

Happy sad is how we feel about last week. My husband Chris’ boss retired after an amazing career and it was really sad to see her go. We are however happy that she is happy and excited about her new adventures.  Having been the most amazing mentor for Chris, Principal of our school and friend to all of us, the Bennie Family wishes you Alexandra all the very best.

The staff organised a lovely Retirement party on Friday evening and they asked me to make a card from them all to sign to go along with the gift. I’m not much into those HUGE cards that are often given for big groups, so a bit of creativity had to be put in place. The brief was: Purple and green, traditional and elegant…… and lots of space to write.

Happy Retirement - Ex Libris https://carolynbennieink.wordpress.com

I couldn’t photograph the colour quite correctly but I’ve used Always Artichoke and Elegant Eggplant as the colour combo. With a touch of Sahara Sand and Very Vanilla.

Happy Retirement - Ex Libris https://carolynbennieink.wordpress.com

 

I’m still loving the Spiral Flower Die and it’s versatility (remember this die is in the Occasion Catalogue that finishes June 30th – so make sure you purchase it prior to that date). I use a hot glue gun to secure the flowers to the page -that baby isn’t going anywhere!

Happy Retirement - Ex Libris https://carolynbennieink.wordpress.com

Inside I wanted to continue the Ex Libris feel, so I inked up the outer section of the stamp and then used a baby whip to remove any additional ink – leaving a soft edge and a great place to write. I sponged the centre with a little Sahara Sand ink and used the ink splotch from the stamp  set ‘Gorgeous Grunge’ from to add to the kind of dreamy feel of it. I also added the Memories, Dream and Happiness sentiment from the ‘Loving Thoughts‘ stamp set.

Happy Retirement - Ex Libris https://carolynbennieink.wordpress.com

I even used the back page for more room to write.

Happy Retirement - Ex Libris https://carolynbennieink.wordpress.com

I had a big thick card with no way of getting it into a normal envelope – so what’s a girl to do? I pulled out my Envelope Punch Board and made an envelope box with a cute matching belly band with the ‘Chalk Talk’ stamp set – I use this stamp set SO much. I thought it needed a bit of wow, so I’ve heat embossed the Always Artichoke ink with clear embossing powder and added a little Glimmer Paper too.

Thanks for popping by.

x Carolyn

 

5 responses »

  1. Gorgeous car Carolyn, I love the inking on the inside also. Did you take a picutre of the box? it sounds nice too.

    Reply
  2. Just gorgeous! The deep purple is beautiful against the green.

    Reply
  3. Do you know that it’ because of you that I actually bought that stamp? And the more cards I see on your blog the more I love it!!!
    That’s another great card, thanks for sharing!
    XXX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

